Grammy's Trustee Award Goes To Don Cornelius & Others






Edited By Barry A. Jeckell. January 04, 2005, 11:00 AM ET

Recording Academy Names 2005 Lifetime Honorees

Legendary rock group Led Zeppelin, jazz great Art Blakey and pioneering country music act the Carter Family are among the artists who will receive the Recording Academy’s Lifetime Achievement award. The honors will be presented at a Los Angeles ceremony Feb. 12, the night prior to the 47th annual Grammy Awards.

Others being honored for their lifelong artistic contributions are country vocalist Eddy Arnold, composer Morton Gould, rock vocalist Janis Joplin, rock’n’roll great Jerry Lee Lewis, jazz innovator Jelly Roll Morton, blues pianist Pinetop Perkins and familial gospel legends the Staple Singers.

Additionally, songwriter Hoagy Carmichael, “Soul Train” creator Don Cornelius, Blue Note Records founder Alfred Lion and jazz pianist/educator Dr. Billy Taylor will receive the Academy’s Trustees Award for “outstanding contributions to the industry in a non-performing capacity.” Producer Phil Ramone and audio firm JBL Professional will receive Technical Grammy awards for “contributions of outstanding technical significance to the recording field.”

“These profoundly inspiring figures are being honored as legendary performers and archetypal musicians, cultural ambassadors, and technical visionaries,” Recording Academy president Neil Portnow says. “Their outstanding accomplishments and passion for their craft have created a timeless legacy that has positively affected multiple generations, and will continue to influence generations to come.”

— Barry A. Jeckell, N.Y.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.